Nov. 15, 2012

Photo Gallery

HAMPTON, VA - The postseason honors for the Fayetteville State volleyball team continue to roll in as Head Coach Reeshemah Johnsonwas named the CIAA Coach of the Year. The announcement was made Thursday evening during the Volleyball Championship Banquet at the Crowne Plaza Hampton-Marina. The Lady Broncos enter the 2012 CIAA Volleyball Championship as the top seed in Pool B after capturing the Southern Division title for the second straight season. FSU finished the regular season with a 23-5 overall record and the second unbeaten conference campaign in program history at 16-0.

The Lady Broncos had eight players named to the CIAA All-Conference Teams including Player of the Year Ifeyinwa Nwokolo(Sr., Greensboro, NC) on Wednesday afternoon. FSU had four players named First Team All-Conference, three to the Second Team and one on the All-Rookie Team.

The 23 wins are tied for fourth-most in school history. Fayetteville State also posted unblemished records in Southern Division play at 10-0 and was 12-0 when playing in Felton J. Capel Arena.

Fayetteville State led the CIAA this season in kills, assists and blocks. The team ranked in the top three in digs and service aces. The Lady Broncos are sixth nationally in aces per set, and 29th in blocks per set, hitting percentage and winning percentage

Johnson will look to lead the Lady Broncos to their fourth CIAA Championship in program history, and first during her four-year tenure. Pool play begins on Friday. FSU must win two-out-of-three games on the opening day to advance to the semi-final round on Saturday. The title game will be played on Sunday at 1:00 pm..



Follow us!