Joylene Thompson (Spanish Town, JA) led the Lady Broncos

Sept. 23, 2013

Final Stats

FAYETTEVILLE, NC - Fayetteville State hosted its first home match of the season against southern division counterpart Livingstone.

The Lady Broncos (4-3 overall, 2-3 CIAA, 1-1 Division) have established a knack of protecting its home court. With a 3-1 victory (25-17, 25-9, 19-25, 25-22) over the Lady Blue Bears (8-4 overall, 4-2 CIAA, 1-1 Division), FSU has won 22 home games in a row. St. Augustine's was the last team to defeat Fayetteville State in Felton J. Capel Arena; September 28, 2010.

Joylene Thompson (Spanish Town, JA) led the Lady Broncos to victory with a team-high 11 kills and 26 total attacks. Samira Luis (Willemstad, Curacao) followed with 7 kills and 22 attacks. Jessica Hardy (Fayetteville, NC) contributed with 16 set-assists along with JaMisha Jordan's (Fayetteville, NC) 13 digs.

Fayetteville State won the first two sets (25-17 and 25-9) with double-digit kills of 12 and 11. Thompson led all in the first two sets with 8 kills and 17 total attacks combined.

FSU made a round of substitutions for the third set and fell behind early. In the 19-25 loss, the Lady Broncos finished with two kills and ten attack errors. Livingstone had its first set of double-digit kills with 13 on 37 total attacks.

The fourth set developed into a battle to the end.

The Lady Blue Bears, down 2-1, tallied nine kills and 31 total attacks in their efforts to stay alive. Livingstone rode the heels of the Lady Broncos by knocking down six-and-a-half blocks of the team's total, 12.

Fayetteville State rallied in the end to pull off the 25-22 set victory and 3-1 advantage with 13 kills on 38 attacks. FSU had 19 digs in the set. The Lady Broncos finished with a total of 38 kills and 12 service aces.



Felton J. Capel Arena will serve as host to a CIAA mini-roundup on Saturday, September 28 and Sunday, September 29. Six CIAA team will participate including Fayetteville State. Games will be held at 1:00, 3:00 and 5:00 pm on the first day and 10:00 am and 12:00 noon on the final. Admission is free to the public.

Follow us!