May 15, 2007

Hampton, VA - The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association's (CIAA) Executive Committee, in conjunction with the respective Spring Sports Coaches' Associations, selected the 2007 Spring Sports Coaches of the Year.

Fayetteville State's Tennis Coach Elorine Hill gained her second consecutive CIAA Women's Tennis Coach of the Year. This is the fourth time she was recognized by the tennis coaches, receiving the honor in 2002 and 2003. The Lady Broncos captured the CIAA Women's Tennis Championship this year and the fifth since the program was introduced as a varsity sport in 2002. Hill and her Lady Broncos celebrated another perfect season in the CIAA, going 7-0 in the Western Division and 15-0 in the conference. They were 18-4 in regular season action.

Coach Raymond McDougal was named the Golf Coach of the Year. This is the 11th time Coach McDougal has received this honor from the coaches association. Prior to receiving the honor, he was named Coach of the Year from 1993-2002. McDougal led his Bronco's golfers to four first place tournament wins and finishing second in one. This year's title is the seventh CIAA Championship won by McDougal.

The Broncos finished tied for third at the NCAA Division II Atlantic/Southeast Region, the best finish since participating in the super regional.

The 2007 CIAA Coaches of the Year will be honored May 22nd at the Annual CIAA Coaches of the Year Luncheon at the Durham Marriott.



Follow us!