April 27, 2011

Photo Gallery

April 27, 2011

FAYETTEVILLE, NC - All of the Fayetteville State Broncos' stars were out for "All of the Lights: Commitment, Character and Class," the annual season-ending student-athlete awards banquet in Capel Arena on Tuesday night.

It was an evening to honor all of Fayetteville State's student-athletes, with a few stars aligning for the biggest awards of the night. Fayetteville State named not one, but two Female Student-Athletes of the Year as well as the Male Student-Athlete of the Year.

In addition, the Fayetteville State Broncos' bowling team, the 2011 CIAA Champions, were honored with the raising of their championship banner to conclude the event, which featured Urban Sports and Entertainment and ESPN sports analyst Stan Lewter as the emcee.

Two of Fayetteville State's most decorated female student-athletes in the history of their respective programs, volleyball player Samantha Meeks (Sr., Laurinburg, NC) and bowling's Akira Turner (Sr., Detroit, MI), were named as Fayetteville State's top female student-athletes of the 2010-11 athletic season.

Richard Medlin (Sr., Raleigh, NC), who has starred for the Broncos' football team for several years, was named as the top male student-athlete at Fayetteville State this season.

Meeks is a three-time All-CIAA selection who ranked second in the country in service aces for Division-II this season. She helped the Lady Broncos rank first in the nation in aces per set this season, with 3.12. Meeks finished her four-year career with nearly 1,000 kills, more than 150 aces and more than 2,700 offensive attacks. She was a member of the 2007 CIAA Championship Broncos team and helped guide Fayetteville State to two conference runner-up finishes.

Turner is perhaps the best bowler in the history of Fayetteville State's vaunted program. She is a two-time CIAA Player of the Year who led Fayetteville State to two league championships, including 2011. Turner was also named as the 2011 CIAA Tournament Most Valuable Player and was the backbone of a team that featured just five bowlers - the minimum required to compete - that marched virtually unscathed to a CIAA Championship this season.

FSU Male Student-Athlete of the Year Richard Medlin, left, stands with Director of Athletics Dr. Edward McLean.

Medlin is a tireless worker whose dedication to the program epitomizes the term that is a favorite of head coach Kenny Phillips - "Bronco Football." Medlin, a running back, was the Broncos' leading rusher during the 2010 season and the unquestioned leader on the field for a team that won four of its last five games. Medlin was the 2009 CIAA Special Teams Player of the Year and was a featured back for the 2009 Broncos team that won the CIAA Championship.

Awards were given out to student-athletes of the 10 Fayetteville State varsity sports.

To open the program, the recipients of the Student-Athlete Academic Scholar were honored. The winners of the academic awards are: Tiane Ellis (tennis), Daisy Weishman (bowling), Ashley Wlezen (softball), Willie McClure (golf), Carla Peguese (cheerleading), Britany Whitehead (women's basketball), Tyrrel Tate (men's basketball), Joi Emanuel (volleyball) and Larry McDonald (football).

Most valuable players for the respective teams were also announced. They are: Varice Love (tennis, Coach's Award), John Cole (golf), Olivia Peavey (softball), Shomika Edmonds (cheerleading, Best All-Around), Je'Lena Robertson (women's basketball), Sidney Evans (men's basketball), Tamikka Portee (women's cross country), Ernest Hawkins (men's cross country), Samantha Meeks (volleyball) and Akira Turner (bowling).

Also, football's Larry McDonald was honored as the Male Comeback Player of the Year while volleyball's Ifeyinwa Nwokolo was named as the Female Comeback Player of the Year.

Cheer Phi Smoov, the Broncos' cheerleading team, was also honored with the Humanitarian Award for its significant community service work.

A list of all of the awards:

ACADEMIC TENNIS Academic Award - Tiane Ellis GOLF Academic Award - Willie McClure SOFTBALL Academic Award - Ashley Wlezen CHEERLEADING Academic Award- Carla Peguese WOMEN'S BASKETBALL Academic Award - Britany Whitehead MEN'S BASKETBALL Academic Award - Tyrrel Tate VOLLEYBALL Academic Excellence - Joi Emanuel FOOTBALL Academic Award - Larry McDonald BOWLING Academic Award - Daisy Weishman


TENNIS Most Improved - Danielle Boone Outstanding Rookie - Brittney Williams Coach's Award - Varice Love

GOLF Most Improved - Bryan Connor Sportsmanship - Michael Wallace Coach's Award - Lincoln Jackson Most Outstanding Newcomer - John Cole MVP - John Cole

SOFTBALL Most Outstanding Newcomer - Olivia Peavey Coach's Award - Maya Washington Leadership Award - Demarius Pankey MVP - Olivia Peavey

CHEERLEADING Most Spirited - Emerald Jones Most Dedicated - Daniel Watson Coach's Award - Bianca Malloy Best All-Around - Shomika Edmonds

WOMEN'S BASKETBALL Coach's Award - Britany Whitehead Most Outstanding Offense - LaQuasha Jordan Most Outstanding Defense - Tiffany Haywood MVP - Je'Lena Robertson

MEN'S BASKETBALL Leadership - Ariel Robinson Most Outstanding Defensive - Tim Plummer Hustle Award - Jarrick Jones MVP - Sidney Evans

CROSS COUNTRY WOMEN's Coach's Award - Keisha Edwards MVP - Tamikka Protee MEN's Coach's - Ervin Brinkley MVP - Ernest Hawkins

VOLLEYBALL Coach's Award - Ifeyinwa Nwokolo Sportsmanship - Sierra Gilmore Most Improved - Octavia Wynn MVP - Samantha Meeks Senior Awards - Samantha Meeks and Achari Mainor

FOOTBALL Most Outstanding Defensive Newcomer - Simeon Marshall Most Outstanding Offensive Newcomer - Robert Benjamin Most Outstanding Lineman (Offensive) - Larry McDonald Most Outstanding Lineman (Defensive) - Aaron Patterson Most Outstanding Linebacker - Jeremy Cunningham Most Outstanding Special Teams - Austin Turner Most Outstanding Offensive - Robert Benjamin Most Outstanding Defensive - Andre Lyles Most Outstanding Skilled - Richard Medlin Larry `The Hammer" McClain - Larry McDonald (offense) and Derrick Redman (defense)

BOWLING Sportsmanship - Kelly Wakerhauser Outstanding Rookie - De'Andrea Bethea Most Improved - Daisy Weishman Most Outstanding - Jamie Donnelly MVP - Akira Turner

SAAC AWARDS Most Involved SAAC Member - Octavia Wynn Most Outstanding SAAC Leader - Joi Emanuel




Follow us!