(l to r) Dr. Edward McLean, Robert Henderson, Kiara Reid, Tyrrel Tate, & Alphonza Kee

Apr. 26, 2012

Thursday, April 26, 2012 - After a year of athletic achievements across the board, Fayetteville State University honored all of its student-athlete on Monday with the 2012 Broncos Athletic Awards Ceremony. And to close the event, bowler Kiara Reid and men's basketball player Tyrrel Tate were named as the Female and Male Student-Athletes of the Year, respectively.

In a dazzling evening at Seabrook Auditorium on the campus of Fayetteville State University, more than 40 student-athletes from 10 varsity sports were honored by Athletics Department administrators and their peers for an athletics year in which Fayetteville State captured two Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association championships.

Following their respective awards presentations, the Broncos' title teams in bowling and golf were recognized on stage to a loud ovation. In March, Fayetteville State won its second straight bowling championship and third in the last five years, and the golf team captured its astounding 26th CIAA championship and 11th in the last 15 years at the CIAA Spring Championships last week.

The biggest individual winners, though, were Reid and Tate, as well as rising football star Joshua Scales.

Named the bowling team's Most Valuable Player by legendary head coach Bobby Henderson, Reid (Jr., Rocky Mount, N.C.) enjoyed one of the best individual seasons of any student-athlete on the FSU campus. But she also rose to great heights in the CIAA, leading her team to a league championship and finishing second in the league in scoring average. One of the elite players in the conference, Reid performed her best at the CIAA Tournament, anchoring the dominating Broncos' team.

Tate (So. Raleigh, N.C.), also named the MVP by head basketball coach Alphonza Kee, was named to the All-Tournament team at the CIAA Tournament in March, but his impact was felt beyond just excellence on the hardwood. Tate was a team leader in and out of competition and a standout in the classroom, setting a high standard for not only his teammates, but for all student-athletes at Fayetteville State University. A tenacious worker, he dramatically improved his game in the offseason and emerged as the team's go-to player down the stretch in tight games.

Scales (So., Pinehurst, N.C.)was honored at the end of the ceremony for leading all NCAA Division-II football players in interceptions per game this season. After suffering a knee injury his freshman season, Scales returned and performed brilliantly and among the best in the nation. He was named Defensive MVP by head football coach Kenny Phillips and was also awarded the Comeback Player of the Year award by Interim Head Athletic Trainer Mita Patel.

Ervin Brinkley (So., Enfield, N.C.) also garnered several honors, aside from opening and closing the ceremony as its host. Brinkley earned the Coach's Award in men's cross country and was also honored with the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee's (SAAC) distinguished Outstanding Leadership and Citizenship award.

Fayetteville State's cheerleading team, Cheer Phi Smoov, was honored with the SAAC's Humanitarian Award for excellence in community service and outreach.


Academic Awards

For Tennis: Varice Love For Softball: Ashley Wlezen For Cheerleading: Carla Peguese For Women's Basketball: She'Quitia Manning For Men's Basketball: Tyrrel Tate For Women's Cross Country: Keisha Edwards For Men's Cross Country: Joshua Morales For Volleyball: Joi Emanuel For Football: Larry McDonald For Bowling: Kelly Wakerhauser For Golf: Michael Wallace

SAAC Humanitarian Award - Cheer Phi Smoov SAAC Most Involved - Dasnii Curtis SAAC Outstanding Leadership and Citizenship - Ervin Brinkley

Sports Medicine Comeback Player of the Year - Joshua Scales

Tennis Most Outstanding Rookie - Samantha Ledbetter Most Improved - Jasmin White Coach's Award - Brittney Williams MVP - Varice Love

Softball Coach's Award - Sierra Henderson-Holmes Most Improved - Lashanda Washington Newcomer of the Year - Clarissa Pitts MVP - Maya Washington

Cheerleading Most Spirited - Emerald Jones Most Dedicated - Bianca Malloy Coach's Award - Rachael Hayes Best All-Around - Leah Gordone

Women's Basketball Most Improved - Britney Whitehead Most Outstanding Defense - Bria Robinson Coach's Award - Tashama Banner MVP - Akysia Resper

Men's Basketball Most Outstanding Defense - Tim Plummer Leadership Award - Jarmel Baxter Hustle Award - John Herrington MVP - Tyrrel Tate

Women's Cross Country Coach's Award - Samantha Meeks MVP - Keisha Edwards

Men's Cross Country Coach's Award - Ervin Bronkley MVP - Ernest Hawkins

Volleyball Most Outstanding Rookie - Nikita Cheadle Coach's Award - JaMisha Jordan Leadership Award - Ifeyinwa Nwokolo MVP - Joi Emanuel

Football Most Outstanding Newcomer - Chauncey Concepcion Coach's Award - John Brown Special Teams MVP - Desmond Roberts Defensive MVP - Joshua Scales Offensive MVP - Larry McDonald Larry "Jackhammer" McLain Award - John Brown

Bowling Most Outstanding Rookie - Crystal Mujica Coach's Award - De'Andrea Bethea Leadership - Kelly Wakerhauser MVP - Kiara Reid

Golf Most improved - David Howell Byrd Sportsmanship - Brandon Jobe Leadership - Lincoln Jackson MVP - Jacob Barge

Female Student-Athlete of the Year - Kiara Reid Male Student-Athlete of the Year - Tyrrel Tate

Follow us!