April 27, 2017

Fayetteville, NC - The Fayetteville State University women's bowling team has been ranked 24th overall and seventh amongst Division II/III in the final National Tenpin Coaches Association (NTCA) Poll for the 2016-17 season. FSU won their 15th CIAA divisional title with a 66-11 overall record, 50-1 conference record, and 36-0 divisional record.

McKendree University concluded the season ranked in the No. 1 spot in both polls with an overall record of 75-21. In the Division II/III poll, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (59-37) ranked second, University of Central Missouri (61-38) came in third, while Adelphi University (67-44) and Franklin Pierce University (52-42) finished fourth and fifth in the poll, respectively.

The reigning CIAA champion Bowie State University (52-22) ranked ninth in the poll. Fellow CIAA rival Virginia State University earned enough votes for the 15th and final spot in the DII/III poll. Fayetteville State, BSU, and VSU were the only CIAA representation in the poll.

NTCA voters ranked the top 15 Division II and Division III teams on their ballot. Each position had a designated point value, ranging from 22 points for first place and one point for 15th place. To be ranked teams need to equal or surpass the minimum vote criteria, which is one vote for every eight ballots submitted.

In the final overall poll, University of Nebraska (85-21), Vanderbilt University (84-36), Arkansas State (79-31), and Sam Houston State University occupied the top five slots.

McKendree (1st), Franklin Pierce (23rd), and Fayetteville State (24th) were the only DII programs to also rank in the top 25 of the final overall poll.

The NTCA voters rank the top 25 teams on their ballot. The teams are ranked using the adjusted total points standing, after the highest and the lowest votes are dropped. FSU bowling had a 52 overall adjusted points standing.



Fayetteville State finished as runners-up for the second consecutive season at the CIAA Bowling Championships. Senior Jasmin Aponte (Fayetteville, NC), freshman Savannah Starling (Fayetteville, NC), and Brittany Worthy (Durham, NC) were named to the All-CIAA Bowling Team. Junior Devondra Bazemore (Fayetteville, NC), sophomore Veronica Colon-Santiago (Hope Mills, NC) and Starling earned spots on the CIAA All-Tournament Team. Head coach Bobby Henderson received CIAA Coach of the Year honors and Worthy was elected CIAA Rookie Bowler of the Year.

Follow us!