April 24, 2008

Fayetteville, NC - Fayetteville State University celebrated the accomplishments of their student-athletes at the 23rd Annual All-Sports Banquet, held on Tuesday evening inside the Capel Arena. Sophomore Chekimbrell Jefferson and senior Phillippe' Harris were honored as the female and male Student-Athletes of the Year and presented with the award by the Director of Athletics Dr. Edward McLean.

Each head coach of the esteemed athletic programs at FSU represented their sport and paid homage to the student-athletes that balanced academics and athletic performance all season long.

Chekimbrell Jefferson, a two-sport student-athlete, was recognized by the university as the Female Student-Athlete of the Year. Jefferson, a 6-2, middle blocker and psychology major from Laurel Hill, North Carolina earned the 2007 CIAA Volleyball Player of the Year Award. Jefferson was instrumental in helping the Lady Broncos post a 21-11 regular season record and going undefeated in the CIAA and Western Division.

Jefferson also excelled on the tennis court this season for the Lady Broncos. In her first year playing competitive tennis, Jefferson posted an 11-7 record at the number six singles position, a 10-6 record at the number three doubles position and earned first runner-up for both positions at the 2008 CIAA Tennis Championships. In addition to being recognized athletically, Jefferson was an academic honoree for maintaining a grade point average of 3.0 or better.

Phillippe' Harris, a native of Fayetteville, NC and Westover High School graduate, was this year's recipient of the Male Student-Athlete of the Year Award. Harris, a captain on the Bronco basketball squad, finished the 2007-08 season second in the CIAA in scoring, averaging 18 points per game. The 5'11, physical education major led the conference in free throw percentage (.843), minutes played (35.92 minutes per game), and was second in three-point field goals made (2.81 per game).



In addition to being one of the statistical leaders in the conference, Harris scored his 1000th career point this season and a second team selection on the 2007-08 Daktronics Men's Basketball Division II All-South Atlantic Region Team. Behind his leadership the Broncos advanced to the finals of the 2008 CIAA Men's Basketball Tournament. Harris was the leading scorer in each of the Broncos' three tournament games, named Most Valuable Player in the Quarter and Semi-finals, and selected to the 2008 All-CIAA Tournament Team.

Sophomore Joel Lynn and junior Shacovia Sheppard received the Meritous Award (formerly the Chancellor's Award of Merit) for their academic excellence and community activism.

Lynn, a member of the FSU Golf team, volunteers at numerous country clubs in the surrounding area, has had a superb season on the green for the Broncos, and showcased his academic prowess by maintaining a grade point average of 3.0 or better.

Sheppard, a forward on the Lady Broncos' basketball team, is also a sergeant in the US Army Reserves. For the second time as a student at FSU, this 22-year-old from Charleston, SC has had to cut her studies short in order to service her country overseas. Sheppard has been called to duty with her unit, the 941st Transportation Company and will soon be deployed to Iraq.

In addition to honoring the student-athletes, a donation was made by Dr. James Carson, President of the FSU Athletic Club in the amount of $15,000.00 toward Athletic Scholarships in regards to the 1,000 Bronco Campaign Fund.

Mr. Melvin Pierce presented two scholarships on behalf of the Dr. Willis B. McLeod Scholarship in the amount of $6,000.00. Two scholarships will be allocated to a male and a female athlete in the amount of $3,000.00 each student.

Complete Listing of Awards

Student Athlete of the Year
Female Chekimbrell Jefferson
Male Phillippe' Harris

Meritous Award
Female Shacovia Sheppard
Male Joel Lynn

Cross Country
Most Valuable Denise Lewis/ Nathan Ody
Leadership Shamica Dawes/ Omar Collazo
Academic Excellence Chressa Aughburns/ Courtney Slaughter

Men's Basketball
Most Valuable Phillippe' Harris
Leadership Larry Ross
Academic Excellence Michael Thompson
Most Outstanding (Defensive) Malcolm Jay
Most Outstanding (Offensive) Andy Gebru
Coaches' Award Jamel Austin

Women's Basketball
Most Valuable Letitia Dickson
Academic Excellence Tenisha McArthur
Most Outstanding Newcomer L' Oreal Price
Most Improved Patrica Holmes
Coaches' Award Erica Gilley

Most Valuable Jessica Donnelly
Academic Excellence Jennifer Montgomery
Most Outstanding Newcomer Danielle Fesco
Sportsmanship Akira Turner
Most Improved Christina Henry
Coaches' Award Jessica Florit

Academic Excellence/Alumni Jessica Fisher
Most Spirited Cortelia Jefferson
Best All-Around LaKeisha Marshall
Coaches' Award Nikita Troy-Keel

Most Outstanding (Defensive) Geron Harper/Andre' Dunn
Most Outstanding (Offensive) Eddie Agan
Most Outstanding (Special Team) Eric Lamoureux
Academic Excellence Paul Murphy
Most Outstanding Newcomer (Offense) Richard Medlin
Most Outstanding Newcomer (Defense) Terrell Allen
The Hammer (Larry McClain) Award Eddie Agan/Andre' Dunn

Most Valuable Ian Milne/Joel Lynn
Sportsmanship Jeremy Ringled
Long-hitter Kevin Lyles
Best short game Derek Scott

Most Valuable Alicia Frank
Most Outstanding Newcomer Rahkee Smith
Most Outstanding (Offensive) Dominique Mills
Leadership Shatia Gidrey
Coaches' Award Bobbi Boucher

Most Valuable Ines Nieves
Coaches' Award Samantha Meeks
Sportsmanship Chekimbrell Jefferson
Most Improved Tyima Johnson
Academic Excellence Chekimbrell Jefferson

Most Valuable Chekimbrell Jefferson
Coaches' Award Achari Mainor
Sportsmanship Shatia Gidrey
Most Improved Sha'Quana Veney
Academic Excellence Chekimbrell Jefferson

Most Active Bryan Hardy
Most Outstanding Leader Antoinette Smith

Sports Medicine
Comeback Athlete of the Year
Male Andre' Dunn
Female Passion Phillips

CIAA Honor Roll: Demarius Pankey, Constance Lee, Tyima Johnson, Sha'Quana Veney, Chekimbrell Jefferson, Kevin Lyles, Joel Lynn, Derek Scott, and Jeremy Ringled

Follow us!