Fayetteville State Rolls Most Pins on Day One of CIAA Bowling Championships

March 24, 2012

Photo Gallery 

DURHAM, N.C. - Defending league champion Fayetteville State University rolled the most total pins after four team matches on the first day of the CIAA Women's Bowling Championships at AMF Durham Lanes.

The Lady Broncos totaled 3,198 pins to lead seven other teams in the tournament. Elizabeth City State University is second with 3,131 pins and Virginia State University is third with 3,037 pins. Bowie State University is fourth with 2,950 pins followed by Winston-Salem State University with 2,905 pins, Saint Augustine's College with 2,884 pins, Chowan University with 2,600 pins and Livingstone College with 2,446 pins.

The three-day event continues Sunday, March 25, 2012 with Baker matches before heading into double-elimination bracket play. The combined total pins from Saturday's team matches and Sunday's Baker matches will determine seeding in the double-elimination bracket. The tournament concludes Monday with the quarterfinals, semifinals and finals.

2012 CIAA Southern Division Champs

The Lady Broncos, the Southern Division champions, were third entering the fourth team match Saturday, but defeated Northern Division champion Elizabeth City State 890-819 to vault ahead of ECSU and Virginia State, the total pins leader after three matches. The Lady Broncos were 3-1 in team matches as well as Bowie State. Ambrianna Bankston of Bowie State bowled the highest individual average (181.75). She tied Amber Slater of Virginia State for the best single-game score (218). Six bowlers rolled 200-plus scores including Breanna James of Elizabeth City State (214), Ashanti Moore of Bowie State (213), Kiara Reid of Fayetteville State (211) and Latoya Gee of Virginia State (203).

The awards ceremony was held prior to the team matches. Freshman Nicole Sciortino of Saint Augustine's College received the CIAA bowler of the year award and was honored as the league's rookie of the year. Bobby Henderson of Fayetteville State was named conference coach of the year.

The All-CIAA team was recognized during the ceremony. They are Sciortino of St. Aug, Reid of FSU, Shanice Watkins of ECSU, Tashanna Raley of ECSU, Crystal Mujica of FSU, De'Andrea Beathea of FSU, Shayla Lightfoot of Bowie State, Paneisha Eure of ECSU, Bankston of BSU and Kelley Dove of Virginia State. Fayetteville State and Elizabeth City State were honored as division champions.

Below are first-day results from the CIAA Championships:
Fayetteville State d. Chowan 736-613
Fayetteville State d. Virginia State 806-692
Bowie State d. Fayetteville State 825-766
Fayetteville State d. Elizabeth City State 890-819
Virginia State d. St. Aug 805-728
Chowan d. St. Aug 714-683
St. Aug d. Elizabeth City State 763-662
St. Aug d. Bowie State 710-691
Bowie State d. Winston-Salem State 741-720
Elizabeth City State d. Winston-Salem State 799-744
Winston-Salem State d. Chowan 729-674
Winston-Salem State d. Virginia State 712-690
Elizabeth City State d. Livingstone 851-635
Bowie State d. Livingstone 693-566
Virginia State d. Livingstone 850-619
Livingstone d. Chowan 626-599



Follow us!