Men's Golf

Former FSU Golf Coach Raymond McDougal Inducted into the CIAA Hall of Fame

March 2, 2018

McDougal Photo Gallery

Charlotte, NC -- The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) inducted former Fayetteville State University golf coach Raymond McDougal into the 2018 John B. McLendon, Jr. Hall of Fame. The formal induction ceremony was held at the Hall of Fame Breakfast on Friday, March 2, 2018, in the Charlotte Convention Center.


Raymond McDougal is a living legend for Fayetteville State Athletics, as he served the Broncos for 44 years in a variety of roles. His most prominent role was as the Head Men's Golf Coach.


Within two decades, McDougal led his Broncos to 15 CIAA golf titles and 6 PGA National Minority Division II golf titles in 15 appearances. McDougal and the Broncos participated in seven NCAA Division II Super Regionals, finishing as high as third (2007) and second (2009). FSU's second-place finish at the 2009 regional tournament earned the team its first NCAA Tournament berth, becoming the first HBCU to make the championship in 35 years.

McDougal has coached five (5) CIAA MVPs and All-Americans, eight (8) CIAA Tournament Medalists, and 44 All-CIAA student-athletes. He has also earned 12 CIAA Coach of the Year awards. McDougal retired from Fayetteville State in June of 2014.


Raymond McDougal joined the Fayetteville State University Broncos in 1970 as the head football coach and head coach of the newly formed men's golf program. After his first year with the University, he turned the golf program over to Dr. Moses Walker and focused on 11 seasons with the football team and one season at the helm of the men's basketball program as an interim head coach. Upon returning to lead the men's golf team in 1993, McDougal began making his mark as a CIAA legend.


McDougal is a 1958 graduate of Johnson C. Smith University where he was a four-year scholarship athlete in both football and golf. As a student-athlete, he earned individual winner in four golf tournaments and played halfback and quarterback for the Golden Bulls football team.


Prior to his career at Fayetteville State, he was the head basketball coach and backfield assistant football coach at Bethune-Cookman University


The CIAA also inducted Kermit Blount, former head football coach of the Winston-Salem State University Rams; Ben Coates, a former football standout at Livingstone College; Dr. Dorothy Cowser Yancy, former President of Shaw University and Johnson C. Smith University; and the 1967 Men's Basketball Team of Winston-Salem State University.


The CIAA recognizes inductees for their excellence in the CIAA, significant contributions in the community, leadership in CIAA sports, and commitment to the conference mission. Each honoree is recommended by the CIAA Hall of Fame Committee, endorsed by the Management Council, and approved by the Board of Directors.


Year       Coach                                   Finish    Score

1993       Raymond McDougal       1st

1994       Raymond McDougal       1st

1995       Raymond McDougal       1st

1996       Raymond McDougal       1st

1998       Raymond McDougal       1st           310-316=626

1999       Raymond McDougal       1st           606

2001       Raymond McDougal       1st           312-316=628

2002       Raymond McDougal       1st           316-312=628

2003       Raymond McDougal       1st           337-309=646

2004       Raymond McDougal       1st           306-307=613

2005       Raymond McDougal       1st           298-291=589

2006       Raymond McDougal       1st           *300-292=592

2007       Raymond McDougal       1st           299-295=594

2009       Raymond McDougal       1st           290-293=583
2012       Raymond McDougal       1st           290-296=586





Follow us!