Men's Golf


FSU's Jacob Barge

May 13, 2012

PORT ST. LUCIE, Fla. - No program has been more dominant in the 26-year history of the PGA Minority Collegiate Golf Championship than the Fayetteville State Broncos.

And no team was more dominant than the Broncos this weekend.

Fayetteville State put the finishing touches on a sterling weekend of golf at The PGA Golf Club's Ryder Course, firing a final-round 303 to win its record seventh Minority championship on Sunday, claiming the PGA Minority Championship for the first time in three years.

The Broncos, led by NCAA Championship qualifier Jacob Barge, routed the field by a staggering 36 strokes over second-place Lincoln (Mo.). Barge, who finished fourth on Wednesday at the NCAA Division-II Atlantic/East regional to earn a berth in next week's NCAA tournament, won the individual championship after carding a 2-under 70 on Sunday for a three-day total of 3-under 213.

"It was great for our team to get back in the winner's circle this year," said Barge, a junior from Fayetteville. "We haven't won since 2009 so this is really satisfying. We got the job done."

Barge is the second straight Fayetteville State golfer to win the PGA Minority medalist title. Freshmen sensation John Michael Cole, who transferred to Appalachian State, won the championship in 2011.

Fayetteville State's Jedidiah Frazier (So., Havelock, N.C.) put together one of his best performances of the season, wrapping up with a 76 for a total of 220. CIAA Player of the Year Brandon Jobe (Fr., Fayetteville, N.C.) carded a 76 for a 230 total while Lincoln Jackson (Sr., Fayetteville, N.C.), playing his final collegiate round, added an 81 for a 233 total.

The Broncos finished with a three-day aggregate score of 896 to win the tournament wire-to-wire.

Fayetteville State has a rich history at the Minority championship, winning it four straight times from 2006 to 2009. The Broncos also captured the title in 1995 and 1996, and their six championships entering this season were the most in the history of the event (St. Augustine's won five straight from 1990-94). It is the fifth time this season Fayetteville State has won a tournament.



This year marks the 26th playing of the tournament, which originated in November 1986 following the Jackson State University Golf Tournament. It has elevated golf in minority colleges and universities by providing opportunities to more players to compete in a national championship.

Men's Team Division II

1. Fayetteville State University 300-293-303--896 Jake Barge 72-71-70--213 Brandon Jobe 80-74-76--230 Jedidiah Frazier 71-73-76--220 Lincoln Jackson 77-75-81--233 Michael Wallace 81-89-NC

2. Lincoln University 313-305-314--932 Steven Mallow 84-74-77--235 Jacob Sandbothe 77-77-76--230 Kyle Brennaman 76-76-83--235 Eric Kosmatka 76-78-78--232 Jordan Morris 93-86-87--266

3. Morehouse College 319-323-313--955 Bryan McElderry 78-75-82--235 Clifton Jordan 81-85-79--245 Justin McElderry 78-84-78--240 Alexander Atkinson 82-84-78--244 Bruce Cousin 85-80-78--243

4. Virginia State University 317-338-328--983 Stephen Genchi 70-NC Rashad Hunt 79-84-83--246 Aaron Bryant 88-88-77--253 Adam Clary 82-80-83--245 Dalton Jolly 86-86-85--257

5. Benedict College 344-328-330--1002 Anthony Wik 83-82-80--245 Eddie Smith III 94-80-79--253 Jordan Buchanan 78-75-84--237 Kelly Willis 89-91-87--267

6. Paine College (+146) 341-332-337--1010 Carlos Solis 76-74-75--225 Victor Tapia 82-82-77--241 Patrick Mobley 90-82-85--257 Ralpph Godbee 93-94-100--287 Keith Godbee 123-116-122--361

7. Winston Salem State 341-335-339--1015 Glendon Mabe 75-77-82--234 Zach Sheets 83-78-74--235 Mike Asbury 86-82-80--248 Kyle Collins 97-98-103--298

8. Kentucky State University 362-346-360--1068 George Dundon 89-86-96--271 Josh Jackson 83-81-77--241 RhoShawn Johnson 99-82-84--265 Carlton Foreman 104-107-103--314

Follow us!