Men's Golf


April 17, 2009

Complete Results

Petersburg, VA - (April 17, 2009) Fayetteville State secured its 24th CIAA Golf Championship Title (since 1976) on Friday, April 17th at the Cardinal Club Golf Course in Fort Lee, VA. FSU won the Tournament with a two-day score of 583 (+7), defeating Virginia State who finished with 613 (+37). Joel Lynn was named the 2009 CIAA Player of the Year. Derek Scott won the Low Medalist Award for shooting a 74 on day one and an incredible 66 on day two. The Broncos led the six-team pack with a two over par (Par 72 course, 6,942 yards) lead in the first round. Kevin Lyles had the lowest score of -3 on day one.

Fayetteville State (290) led the defending champions Virginia State by 19 strokes (309) and distanced themselves from Saint Augustine's - who rounded out the top three with a score of 335.

FSU shot a five over par (293) in the second round but the remainder of the conference could not fair better than the Broncos. Four of the six players named to the 2009 All-CIAA Golf Tournament Team are members from Fayetteville State; Derek Scott (Hope Mills, NC), Joel Lynn (Sanford, NC), Kevin Lyles (Charlotte, NC) and Jeremy Ringled (Hope Mills, NC). Scott finished first with 140 strokes for -4 (74/66), Lynn shot 144 (E) for second place (72/72); Lyles was fourth with a +3 score (69/78); and Ringled capped off the top five with a +8 (75/77). Bryon Conner (Hickory, NC) was the Broncos fifth player and finished with 172 strokes (89/83).

The Broncos also captured the 2009 CIAA Golf Eastern and Western Division Championship titles earlier this season. Fayetteville State is currently the topped ranked team in the Atlantic Region. The Broncos will represent the CIAA in NCAA Super Regionals from May 4-6. Concord University will host the Atlantic and East Region at the Glade Springs Resort in Beckley, West Virginia.



Virginia State fell short of their mark to defend their 2008 title. Gregory Hunt and Dustin Kelley were also named to the 2009 All-CIAA Golf Tournament Team. Hunt shot a 70 on day one and finished play with a total of 146 (70/76). Kelley played with a two-day total of 154 (77/77). The team finished with an overall total of 613 (309-304). Kalani Britos could not defend his 2008 Player of the Year title following a first day round of 82 and an overall 156 (82/74). Tommie Sides finished with a 161 (84/77) and Brian Wood finished for VSU with a round of 157 (80/77). The only female in the Tournament, Tiffany Mason, played as an individual and finished with a two-day total of 211 (104/107).

Saint Augustine's College finished in third place with a two-day total of 661 (335-326). Aaron Oliver and Julius Wells both shot a two-day total of 163; (78/85) and (85/78) respectively. Emile Lockhart shot a 174 (90/84); Derek Johnson shot a 175 (85/90) and Landrum finished with a 166 (87/79).

Elizabeth City State University finished with a 708 total (364-344). George Harris shot a 166 (87/79); Scott Forbes shot a 169 (87/82); Westbrook shot a 175 (88/87); Catalin Parfenti finished with a 166 (87/79) and Jamier Bush rounded out team play with a 211 (112/99).

Virginia Union University shot a 712 (354/358) for the Tournament. Fred Amy shot a 170 (85/85); Cory Claytor finished with a 178 (90/88); Dellino Wilson finished with a 181 (88/93); Anthony Martin shot a 183 (91/92) and Westley Garcia finished with a 183 (91/92).

Johnson C. Smith University shot a 727 (364/363) for the Tournament. Heavy pollen forced Antonio Hall to withdraw but he is doing fine now. Andre Kelly shot a 173 (91/82); Carlton Bramer shot 174 (86/88); Jamaal Brown finished with a 187 (99/88) and Julian Polk finished with a 203 (98/105).

Tom Green, the Golf Pro from The Cardinal Club stated, "This year's Tournament was terrific and filled with great competition. That "66" from Scott was amazing in light of the fact that the golf course was set up challenging. He played with focus and skill at an incredible level."

Follow us!