Nov. 8, 2016

Charlotte, NC - Fayetteville State University had five student-athletes elected to the 2016 CIAA All-Rookie Football Team this season, including redshirt freshman Stevie Green (Washington, NC) receiving Offensive Rookie of the Year honors. The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) in conjunction with its Football Coaches Association and Sports Information Directors Association announced the 2016 CIAA All-Rookie Team.

Green ranks fourth in the conference with 866 rushing yards, an average 123.7 yards per game against CIAA opponents. Green has scored four touchdowns in conference play with high longest carry reaching 76 yards. He totaled 1,150 rushing yards, six TDs, and 115 yards per game with 10 games played this season.

Green also received All-CIAA Second Team honors and had the second most rushing yards in a season at Fayetteville State. He was named CIAA Rookie of the Week twice times and Offensive Back of the Week once.

Freshman wide receiver Jayden Maynor (Greensboro, NC) and redshirt freshman running back Tony Credle (Bayboro, NC) earned nods on the All-Rookie Offense squad. Maynor had the second most receptions this season for FSU with 14, in addition to 137 yards and a touchdown. Credle ran for 182 yards and two touchdowns on the year.

Freshman linebacker Jaelin Beugre (Rockingham, NC) and redshirt freshman defensive end Darius Darden (Greensboro, NC) represent the Broncos on the All-Rookie Defense. Beugre finished fifth on the team with 41 tackles, along with five tackles for a loss, two pass breakups and two pass deflections. Darden had 37 tackles, a team-high seven tackles for a loss, three sacks, a forced fumble, and a CIAA-high five fumble recoveries.



Freshman middle linebacker Devon Hunt of Shaw University has been announced this year's Defensive Rookie of the Year. Also named to the All-CIAA Second Team, Hunt accounted for 57 total tackles, including 28 solo, for an average 8.1 tackles per game. He was named Rookie of the Week twice and Linebacker of the Week once.

On Saturday, November 12 the Rams of Winston-Salem State will take on the Bulldogs of Bowie State for the 2016 CIAA Football Championship title. The contest, a repeat of last year's championship between the Rams and Bulldogs, will kick off at 2:00 p.m. at Salem Stadium in Salem, Virginia. Tickets are now available through Ticketmaster. The game will broadcast live via the ASPiRE TV Network.

Defensive Rookie of the Year

LB Devon Hunt, Shaw

All-Rookie Defense

DE Darius Darden, Fayetteville State

LB Jaelin Beugre, Fayetteville State

LB David Francis, Johnson C. Smith

CB Brian Dickerson, Livingstone

DL Kevonte Demery, Virginia State

DB Daryus Skinner, Winston-Salem State

DB Victor Mack, Bowie State

DL Demond Quinerly, Saint Augustine's

DB De'Andre Blevins, Winston-Salem State

DB William Flowers, Bowie State

Offensive Rookie of the Year

RB Stevie Green, Fayetteville State

All-Rookie Offense

QB Xaiver Longerbeam, Livingstone

RB Braxton Gambrell, Johnson C. Smith

QB Jason Epps, Lincoln (Pa.)

WR Christian Harden, Virginia State

K Gene Carson, Bowie State

RB Tevin Perry, Shaw

WR Geordan Clark, Bowie State

RB Tony Credle, Fayetteville State

WR Jayden Maynor, Fayetteville State

OL Aaron Ray, Chowan

WR Gustavious Dames, Virginia Union

Follow us!