Broncos secured its 2nd Back-to-Back title in 2003

Aug 15, 2013

2003 Championship Stats

Fayetteville State has a long history as one of the premier football programs in North Carolina and the CIAA. The Broncos began playing football games as early as 1921; eventually joining the North Carolina Athletic Association in 1934.

In 1939, Fayetteville State joined the Eastern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, where it built a sturdy 47-29-3 record. Fayetteville State later left the EIAC in 1954 to join the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA), where it has remained to this day as one of the hallmarks of the conference's history. Fayetteville State has won three CIAA Championships, each in the last decade, with titles in 2002, 2003 and 2009.

On November 15, 2003, Fayetteville State University (8-3) returned to center stage and rallied in the fourth quarter to defend its 2002 CIAA title against Virginia Union University, 23-19. Head coach Kenny Phillipsled the Broncos in its second consecutive championship in school's history. Senior quarterback Duane Taylor threw three touchdowns to secure the repeat.

The Department of Athletics will take the season-opening weekend to recognize the 10-year reunion of its 2003 Champions.

The 2003 team will receive special recognition prior to the 6:00 pm game between the Broncos and the Trojans of Virginia State and throughout the game.

Former FSU players from the 2003 squad are asked to RSVP to Kevin Wilson via phone at (910) 672-2565 or via e-mail at



Follow us!