Antonio Mayo Named To Watch List For 2013 Fred Mitchell Award

July 30, 2013

FAYETTEVILLE, NC - Fayetteville State junior kicker/punter Antonio Mayo (Jacksonville, NC) has been placed on the 2013 Fred Mitchell Award Watch List for excellence on the football field and in the community. The Watch List features 34 Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Division II, III, National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) and National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) collegiate place-kickers that were nominated by their colleges.

"These place-kickers are terrific on the football field and off the field representing their schools, their football teams, their conferences, their communities, their families and themselves," said Chris Kearney, the award's Selection Committee Chairman. "We look forward to following their accomplishments during the next few months."

Mayo was twice honored for his performance last season by the Fred Mitchell Award. He led all Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) kickers with 11 field goals and longest field goal made of 45 yards. He was also third in points with 57.

He was recently named the President of Fayetteville State's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) for the 2013-14 academic year. Mayo is active in numerous community service activities throughout the Fayetteville area.

The annual Fred Mitchell Outstanding Place-Kicker Award (also known as the Fred Mitchell Award) is provided to the nation's top collegiate place-kicker among more than 750 FCS, Division II, III, NAIA and NJCAA football teams. The award is named for Fred Mitchell, the record-setting place-kicker, Wittenberg University Athletic Hall of Famer, author, philanthropist and Chicago Tribune sports columnist.

The recipient of the Fred Mitchell Award is chosen based on excellence on the football field and in the community. The Award's Watch List is released in late July, top performers are recognized monthly during the college football season, and the winner (who is not required to be on the Watch List) is announced in mid-December.

The school of the Award winner receives scholarship funds and the Fred Mitchell Award trophy will be presented each February at the National Football Foundation Chicago Metro Chapter Awards Ceremony at Halas Hall.

"It is a pleasure to include these fine young men on the Watch List for this Award," stated Mitchell. "We are delighted to recognize them based on outstanding performance in the community and expectations going into the 2013 college football season. It is also a thrill to see so many familiar names on the Watch List, including 17 finalists and three place-kickers that were among the ten for the award last season."

The breakdown of the Watch List includes nine FCS, 12 NCAA Division II, 11 NCAA Division III, and one NAIA and NJCAA place-kickers. The list also consists of 18 seniors, 12 juniors and four sophomores. The place-kickers compete for schools in 17 different states. A total of 17 finalists from last year's award are also on the list.

Fayetteville State University is the second-oldest public institution in North Carolina. A member of the University of North Carolina System, FSU has nearly 6,000 students and offers degrees in more than 60 undergraduate and graduate degree programs.



Follow us!