July 14, 2016

Durham, NC – The Fayetteville State University football program will be one of 12 teams highlighted by the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) at the annual Football Media Day on July 21st, which kicks off the 2016 football season. CIAA Football Media Day will be held at the Marriott-Research Triangle Park in Durham, North Carolina.  Start time is scheduled for 9:00 a.m.

Each of the CIAA's twelve head football coaches, along with select student-athletes, will take the stage for discussion regarding the upcoming season and the highly anticipated CIAA Championship. The media circuit this year will feature extended sessions for Q&A dialog between head coaches, student-athletes, and the media. CIAA Commissioner Jacqie McWilliams will also be on-hand to answer questions and provide remarks.

Broncos’ head coach Richard Hayes, Jr. will be in attendance to share his perspective on the upcoming season. Key returners Darreall Hamlett (Yanceyville, NC) and Travis Scales (Southern Pines, NC) will join Hayes as the FSU student-athlete representation. 

Hamlett returns to the backfield ready to make the most of his upcoming senior campaign.  Last year, Hamlett rushed for 274 yards off 53 attempts with two rushing touchdowns, including a season-high long rush of 84 yards.
Scales also enters his senior season after leading FSU in tackles his junior year. He accumulated a team-high 62 total tackles (38 solo, 24 assisted) while notching 2.5 tackles for loss, an interception, six pass deflections, and a force fumble at the safety position.
Fayetteville State finished the 2015 season with a 4-6 overall record and posted a 4-3 mark in CIAA play. The Bronco look to contend for the conference title and be atop of the CIAA Southern Division. 
The interview schedule is listed below:
9:10 a.m. – Bowie State – Damon Wilson
9:20 a.m. – Chowan – Tim Place
9:30 a.m. – Elizabeth City State – Earnest Wilson III
9:40 a.m. – Fayetteville State – Richard Hayes Jr.
9:50 a.m. – Johnson C. Smith – Kermit Blount
10:00 a.m. – Lincoln (PA) – Herb Pickens
10:10 a.m. – Livingstone – Daryl Williams
10:20 a.m. – Saint Augustine's – Tim Chavous
10:30 a.m. – Shaw – Adrian Jones
10:40 a.m. – Virginia State – Reggie Barlow
10:50 a.m. – Virginia Union – Mark James
11:00 a.m. – Winston-Salem State – Kienus Boulware
11:10 a.m. – CIAA Commissioner Jacqie McWilliams



The media circuit will be held in the Edison Ballroom AB of the Marriott Research Triangle Park at 4700 Guardian Drive in Durham, North Carolina.

Follow us!