April 20, 2010

FAYETTEVILLE - The Fayetteville State Department of Athletics will celebrate the best of the past year at its annual awards presentation on Wednesday inside Capel Arena.

Doors on the second floor will open at 6:45 p.m. and the presentation is free to the public.

FSU will honor student-athletes from each sport and will give out the Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards.

Since April 2009, the Broncos have brought home three CIAA titles -- football, men's golf and women's basketball. All three teams will receive special recognition, including a video and the hanging of their championship banners.

With 2004 FSU Hall of fame inductee Raymond McDougal at the helm, the 2009 Golf team captured not only the CIAA title and won its fourth straight PGA Minority Golf Championship. It also became the first team in FSU history to make it to the NCAA Division II Tournament.

Head Coach Eva Patterson-Heath and the FSU women's basketball team topped Bowie State 66-50 on Feb. 27 to win the Broncos' third CIAA Championship.

Under the direction of head coach Kenny Phillips, FSU made the CIAA Championship game for the fourth time since 2002. After scoring 21 second-half points, FSU topped Bowie State 21-10 to win its third CIAA Championship.



Follow us!