Hawkins Named CIAA All-Conference

Photo Gallery | Complete Results

CARY, NC - Earnest Hawkins has reason to celebrate after an exhausting 8-kilometer run at the CIAA Cross Country Championships. During the awards ceremony, newly appointed Commissioner Jacqi Carpenter presented him an award for All-CIAA honors for his tenth place finish at the meet. The Fayetteville State men's team finished in seventh place with 179 points while the women placed ninth with 247 points.

Hawkins (Jr., Raleigh, NC) took the WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, NC in a time of 27:13.10 and improved his finish from last season five places.

Amanda Anderson(So., Hope Mills, NC) was the top finisher for the Lady Broncos. She recorded a 43rd place finish with a time of 24:04.70.

"I am proud of this team for sticking through the entire season and never giving up," said Head Coach Derwin Sheppard, who is in his inaugural season. "The men finished three spots higher from last year's finish and the women improved by two. We lose only one person off this year's men's squad, so we'll see what we can do next season."

Douglas Jackson (So., Atlanta, GA) finished behind Hawkins in 11th place with a time of 27:34.20. Ervin Brinkley (Jr., Enfield, NC) posted a time of 31:45.80 to record a 47th place finish at the meet. Anthony Mullen (So., Newport News, VA) turned in 53rd with a time of 32:40.20, while Taron Sanders placed 58th with a 33:14.80. Brandon Elmore(So., Fayetteville, NC) crossed the finish line in 33:43.00, which was good for a 61st place finish.

A trio of Lady Broncos ran behind each other to finish 48th, 49th and 50th. Brittany Wilkins (Fr., Greenville, NC) ran the course in 26:05.80, Nia Trawick (Fr., Fayetteville, NC) followed with a 26:12.80 and Rachael Hays posted a time of 26:17.00, respectfully. Renee Guischard (Fr., Fayetteville, NC) finished in 57th place with a time of 27:08.40. Dasnii Curtis(Fr., Fayetteville, NC) finished in 71st place with a time of 34:53.

"Our girls did a fabulous job today," Sheppard said. "We have everyone returning next season so we look to be better next year."

Saint Augustine's University swept the championships with 48 points for the men and 44 for the women. The Virginia State men finished second (83 points) while its women were third (68 points). The Bowie State men had third place with 106 points. The Lady Rams of Winston-Salem State were denied a repeat as champions with a second place finish (48 points).

WSSU's Andrew Chebii won the men's individual competition with a time of 25:01.60 and VSU's Taylor-Ashley Bean finished first in the women's 5-kilometer event with a time of 19:27.90.



Follow us!