(Tuesday, March 21, 2009) - Fayetteville, NC - Fayetteville State University celebrated the accomplishments of its student-athletes at the 24th Annual All-Sports banquet, held on Tuesday evening (March 21) inside the Capel Arena. Junior L' Oreal Price (Raleigh, NC) and sophomore Richard Medlin (Raleigh, NC) were honored as the female and male Student-Athletes of the Year. Freshman Kristen Britt (Delco, NC) and Paul Murphy (Charlotte, NC) were this year's recipients of the Meritous Award.

Master's of Ceremony Stan Lewter, of Urban Sports & Entertainment and ESPN, presided over the event and assisted in giving homage to the student-athletes.

L' Oreal Price honored FSU's Female Student-Athlete of the Year

L' Oreal Price, a member of the women's basketball program, was recognized by the university as the Female Student-Athlete of the Year. Price, a psychology major from Raleigh, North Carolina, earned Preseason All-CIAA and 2009 All-CIAA Honors. She was named the Bahamas Shootout DII Tournament Most Valuable Player. L'Oreal was instrumental in leading the Lady Broncos to a 19-9 season and a berth to the NCAA Regional's. FSU was crowned the CIAA Western Division Champions. In 28 games, she averaged 12.5 points per game. Price scored a career high 32 points against Livingstone. L' Oreal Price was also named the team's MVP.

Richard Medlin was honored FSU's Male Student-Athlete of the Year

Richard Medlin, also a native of Raleigh, NC, was this year's recipient of the Male Student-Athlete of the Year Award. Medlin, the 2009 CIAA Special Teams Player of the Year, led the CIAA in scoring (78 points), scoring TDs (13, (7.8avg/g)), and ranks fourth in the conference in rushing 688 yards (68.8avg/p). He brought excitement to every football game and excelled the Broncos to an 8-2 season.

Freshman Kristen Britt and junior Paul Murphy received the Meritous Award (formerly the Chancellor's Award of Merit) for their academic excellence and community contributions.

Britt, a member of the FSU Softball team, leads by example on and off the field. On the mound, she is undefeated in conference play with a 7-0 record. She was named to the CIAA All-Rookie Softball Team, Second Team All-CIAA, and the CIAA All-Tournament Team. Off the field, Kristen is not only committed to her team, coaches, and school; she is committed to the community as well. Kristen Britt is the pitching coach for the Lady Flames softball team in her hometown of Delco, NC. Academically, Britt has one of the highest grade point averages in her class with a 3.44.

Paul Murphy, an offensive lineman on the Broncos Football team that went 8-2 this season, is a recipient of the chancellor's Scholar and Waddell Scholarships. In the community, the criminal justice major is an Eagle Scout and a Bronco Ambassador. Murphy lends his extra time volunteering for the habitat for humanity and Fayetteville Beautiful (a community clean-up project).

In addition to honoring the student-athletes, a donation was made by Dr. James Carson, President of the FSU Athletic Club, and Mr. Roosevelt Wright, on behalf of the Athletic Hall of Famers, towards athletic scholarships in regards to the 1,000 Bronco campaign Fund.

List of Awards:
Women's Basketball Awards
Most Valuable Player - L' Oreal Price
Most Improved Player - Erica Gilley
Coach's Award - Danielle Russell
Academic Excellence - Chelsea Jeter
Most Outstanding Newcomer - Deja Middleton

Men's Basketball Awards
Most Valuable Player - Darshawn Johnson
Academic Excellence - Jarrick Jones
Leadership - Andy Gebru
Most Outstanding Offensive Player - Ariel Robinson
Most Outstanding Defensive Player - Malcolm Jay

Bowling Awards
Most Valuable Bowler - Jessica Florit
Most Improved Bowler - Vanessa Thompson
Most Outstanding - Akira Turner
Coach's Award - Kiara Reid
Sportsmanship - Kelly Wakerhauser

Cheerleading Awards
Academic Award - Carla Peguese
Most Spirited - Ronisha Crudup
Most Dedicated - Nikita Troy-Keel
Coach's Award - Audri Wooten
Best All-Around - Melia Johnson

Cross Country Awards
Most Valuable Player - Kezie Mulaniki
Coach's Award - Ch'ressa Aughburns
Most Valuable Male - James Bailey
Coach's Award - Delaurence Rudd

Football Awards
Larry "The Hammer" McClain Award - Gavin Hardison and Adrian Horton
Most Outstanding Special Teams Award - Richard Medlin
Most Outstanding Defensive Newcomer - Marcos Esquivel
Most Outstanding Offensive Newcomer - Larry McDonald
Academic Excellence - Jeff Gowdy
Most Outstanding Offensive Player - Darryl Barnett
Most Outstanding Defensive Player - Marcos Esquivel and Terrel Allen

Golf Awards
Long Drive Award - Kevin Lyles
Most Improved Player - William McClure
Leadership Award - Jeremy Ringled
Most Valuable Player - Joel Lynn
Sportsmanship - Derek Scott

Softball Awards
Most Outstanding Newcomers - Kristen Britt and Tracy Brighter
Coach's Award - Dominique Mills
Leadership Award - Rakhee Smith
Most Valuable Player - April Branch

Women's Tennis Awards
Most Valuable Player - Ines Nieves
Most Improved Player - Samantha Meeks
Outstanding Rookie - Amber Mitchell
Outstanding Newcomer - Kristan Tapassi

Women's Volleyball Awards
Most Valuable Player - Chekimbrell Jefferson
Academic Excellence - Heather Chance
Most Improved Player - Samantha Meeks
Sportsmanship - Shatia Gidrey
Coach's Award - Achari Mainor

Comeback Athlete of the Year
Female - Chelsea Jeter
Male - Sidney McClettie

Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Awards
Female - Breana Wilson
Male - Darrius Smith

Merit Award
Female - Kristen Britt
Male - Paul Murphy

Student-Athlete of the Year
Female - L'Oreal Price
Male - Richard Medlin





Follow us!