April 21, 2010

FAYETTEVILLE - Fayetteville State put a cap on the 2009-10 athletic season at the 25th annual athletic awards banquet on Wednesday inside Capel Aprena.

Junior Tiffany Haywood (Fayetteville, NC) and senior Marcos Esquivel (Kearny, AZ) were honored as the female and male athletes of the year.

Juniors Kristy Mitchell (Fayetteville, NC) and Paul Murphy (Charlotte, NC) were given the female and male meritorious awards.

Ray Thomas, host of the Bronco Café on 91.9 WFSS and voice of the Broncos, presided over the event and assisted in paying homage to more than 200 student athletes in nine sports at FSU.

Haywood, a forward on the 2010 CIAA Champion FSU women's basketball team, was named female athlete of the year after leading FSU and the CIAA with 10.3 rebounds per game. She recorded 12 or more rebounds 10 times during the 2009-10 season and had a five-game stretch where she had five-straight double doubles.

Against Bowie State on Jan. 11 she had 14 points and a career-high 20 rebounds An All-CIAA first team selection, Haywood also named on All-CIAA tournament team and was named the tournament's most valuable player.

Manning his linebacker position, Esquivel was a two-year starter, captain and two-time All-CIAA first-team selection for the 2009 CIAA Champion FSU football team.

He led FSU with 106 tackles and 22.5 tackles for loss while amassing 7.5 sacks, two interceptions, two fumble recoveries, a forced fumble and a blocked kick.

In the CIAA Championship game, he recorded 10 tackles and 1.5 tackles for loss.

Mitchell and Murphy received the Meritorious Award for their academic excellence and community contributions. A member of the FSU women's tennis team, Mitchell had six total wins in her first season with the Broncos. A math major, she had a 3.98 GPA, is in the FSU honors program and on the Chancellor's list, served as Chancellor for a day in 2009, is an orientation leader, math tutor and a member of the women's leadership academy.

An offensive lineman and member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc., Murphy has volunteered with Habitat for Humanity, is a Bronco Ambassador and a RA with the Upward Bound Program. In October, he was named CIAA Offensive Lineman of the Week after helping the Broncos roll up 483 yards of total offense in a 30-12 win over Johnson C. Smith List of Awards:

Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC)

Most Outstanding Leadership - Doniecia Ebron

Most Involved - Breana Wilson

Sports Medicine

Female Comeback Athlete of The Year - Demarius Pankey

Male Comeback Athlete of The Year - Jeffrey Brooks


Academic Excellence - Shomika Edmonds

Coach's Award - Courtney McNeil

Most Spirited - Carla Peguese

Most Dedicated - Audri Wooten

Best All-Around - Bianca Malloy

Bronco Pride Award - Daniel Watson

Cross County

Academic Excellence - Kezie Mwaniki

Coach's Award - Kenya Vice

Most Valuable - Tressa Aughburns

Academic Excellence - Delaurence Rudd

Coach's Award - Courtney Slaughter

Most Valuable - Stevie Sumpter


Academic Excellence - Kristy Mitchell

Most Improved - Danielle Boone

Rookie of The Year - Shantana Donegan

Most Valuable - Amber Mitchell


Academic Excellence - Ashley Wlezen

Coach's Award - Demarius Pankey

Leadership - Tracey Brighter

Most Outstanding Newcomer - Misty Huber

Most Valuable - April Branch


Academic Excellence - Jamie Donnely

Coach's Award - Jessica Collins

Most Improved Bowler - Kelly Wakerhauser

Most Outstanding Newcomer - Clarrisse Bible

Most Outstanding Bowler - Jessica Styers

Most Valuable - Akira Turner


Academic Excellence - Gewyl Galberth

Coach's Award - Samantha Meeks

Sportsmanship - Ifeyinwa Nwokolo

Most Improved Player - Joi Emanuel

Most Valuable - Achari Mainor

Men's Basketball

Academic Excellence - Paul Lane

Hustle Award - Benjamin Davis

Most Outstanding Defensive Player - Jarmel Baxter

Leadership & Most Valuable Player - Jamel Carpenter


Academic Excellence - Bryan Connor

Sportsmanship - Jeremy Ringled

Most Improved Golfer - William McClure

Most Outstanding Newcomer - Matt Crescenzo

Most Valuable - Jedidiah Frazier

Women's Basketball

Academic Excellence - Britney Whitehead

Coach's Award - Randi Watts

Most Outstanding Defensive Player Deja Middleton

Most Outstanding Offensive Players -- Tiffany Haywood and L'oreal Price

Most Valuable Player - Danielle Russell


Academic Excellence - Larry McDonald

Coach's Award - Jeffery Gowdy

Most Outstanding Special Teams Player - Austin Turner

Larry "Jackhammer" McClain Award for Defense - Adrian Horton

Larry "Jackhammer" McClain Award for Offense - Larry McDonald

Most Outstanding Offensive Player - Calvin Harris and Austin Turner

Most Outstanding Defensive Player - Marcos Esquivel

Iron Mike and Female Soldier of the Year Award - Shacovia Shepard

Meritorious Award

Male - Paul Murphy

Female - Kristy Mitchell

Student-Athlete of the Year

Male - Marcos Esquivel

Female - Tiffany Haywood





Follow us!