Athletics News

Fayetteville State SAAC Wins Inaugural LGBT SportSafe DII/III Challenge

May 3, 2018

Fayetteville State SAAC Wins Inaugural LGBT SportSafe DII/III Challenge

Fayetteville, NC – The LGBT SportSafe Inclusion Program announced Fayetteville State University as its Division II/III winner of the inaugural LGBT SportSafe SAAC Challenge. The Broncos’ Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) representatives competed against 20 institutions in creating a video to address the importance of inclusion in college athletics and why they are proud to be LGBT SportSafe.

The videos gained traction around the globe, as student-athletes led the charge for change. FSU received almost 500 votes to win the title. UCLA received over 1,000 votes to claim the Division I title.

“Now, more than ever, we must do everything in our power to block any blow to undermine equality for all. Winning the LGBT SportSafe SAAC Video Challenge makes me proud to be a part of an institution with SAAC students who are serious about their commitment to becoming a leading HBCU in promoting diversity and inclusion for all,” said Dr. LaWanda D. Miller, Senior Woman Administrator at Fayetteville State. “Leading the charge to defend and protect the rights of the LGBT community means that we are all winning.”

Fayetteville State’s submitted video was themed after the hit television show “Family Feud”. Mr. SAAC Javen McNeill served in the capacity of the TV Host Steve Harvey. Member of the Broncos SAAC divided into two teams and answered game show questions related to inclusion in college athletics. The full video can be seen at

In the spirit of friendly competition, participating institutions challenged a total of 47 rival institutions to join the SAAC Challenge. Rival Schools must first qualify for the LGBT SportSafe Inclusion Program prior to joining the SAAC Challenge to show a commitment to improving the culture of athletics.

Thousands of votes were cast from over 20 different countries to determine the winners of the inaugural SAAC Challenge. Participating schools were divided into two categories, Division I and Division II/III. The institutions receiving the most votes in each division won the SAAC Challenge. Winston-Salem State University came in second place for Division II/III.


The LGBT SportSafe Inclusion Program was founded to create an infrastructure for athletic leadership to support LGBTQ inclusion in college and professional sports. LGBT SportSafe launched in partnership with University of Oregon, Northwestern University and University of Nebraska, using a new framework, the 3-Peat Model, to help administration champion a culture of respect and inclusion.

Top Videos

Follow us!